Regional and Metropolitan Referee Developments squads announced

nsw logo
The NSWRL is pleased to announce that Regional and Metropolitan Referee Developments squads will be operating under one system for the 2022 Junior Representative season in line with the NSWRL One State plan.
The referees in both squads this year will be afforded the opportunity to referee across NSW with NSWRL Referee High Performance Manager Stuart Raper excited to unite both squads.
“The One State approach will allow the squads to be interchangeable, so whether you are regional referee or a metro referee you could be called to any Junior Representative competition,” Raper said.
“We will also be watching closely during the season for any referee who shows potential to get a train and trial or graded into the High Performance squad.”
Officiating, commitment and fitness levels all play a part in a referee being promoted into the High Performance squad, which officiates the NSWRL’s top tier competition The Knock-On Effect NSW Cup.
The referees will continue training under Referee Operations Manager Paul Kalina and Officiating Development Coordinator Gavin Badger who have played significant roles in having the squads ready for the 2022 season.
The One State charter included plans to bring the game in regional NSW and the Sydney metropolitan area closer together, including officials. It also aims to improve competition opportunities for participants by restructuring the state into six zones with the Peter McDonald Premiership, Macarthur Conference Competition and Hunter Junior Rugby League ready to commence in 2022.
Regional Referee Development Squad
Jason Bain (Group 11), Brody Barrie (Newcastle), Will Batchelor (Northern Rivers), Michael Booth(Group 7), Sean Byatt (Group 9), Deacon Cameron (Central Coast), Shannon Castle (Group 16), Isaac Cornell (Group 9), Corey Cox (Northern Rivers),Samuel Daley (Newcastle), Oscar Day (Northern Rivers), Juliana Donaldson (Canberra), Nathan Eveleig (Newcastle), Jack Fisher (Newcastle), Matthew Galvin (Group 6), Mitch Graham (Group 3), Heather Hall (Canberra), Shanika Harpur (Group 11), Aden Hayward (Group 11), Nathan Hillier (Newcastle), Jye Honeysett (Illawarra), Tate Hoobin (Newcastle), Bryce Hotham (Group 10), Ruby Keen (Illawarra), Tom Lidbury (Newcastle), Braiden McIntosh (Canberra), Jack Mckay (Group 6), Ryan Micallef (Group 7), Jacob Nelson (Group 2), Brandan Neville (Group 10), Anthony Pond (Group 10), Matt Reeves (Illawarra), Callum Richardson (Central Coast),  Jackson Rye (Group 6), Jesse Sahyoun (Group 10), Ryan Schmiedel (Group 4), Cody Simmons (Central Coast), Balunn Simon (Group 7), Bailey Warren (Group 7), Tim Whawell (Group 6),  Nicholas Willer (Group 7), Siobhan Wilson (Group 3).